Ilocos Travel Diary

Last weekend, we were given a chance to tour around Ilocos Norte and Ilocos Sur for our History class. Good thing is that my friends and I have the same professor so we get the chance to learn the Spanish Culture here in the Philippines at the same time bond with each other and gain new friends. We’ve been excited about this tour for months because we madly need a break from the stressful environment from the university. On our first day, we went to a lot of museums and churches of Norte and also we were able to visit the famous Bangui Windmills and Cape Bojeador (Burgos Lighthouse). We spent our night at Plaza Del Norte, one of the best hotel in the North. On the second day, we visited the Juan Luna Shrine and the Malacanang of the North. That was the place where the Marcos Family resided for years. Then we went to Vigan and visited the Burgos and Crisologo Museum. After, we went to the Heritage Village and witnessed the Spanish houses. We also rode a kalesa! Our last destination was a zoo called Baluarte. We roamed around the area and took pictures for keeps.IMG_3839

IMG_3830

Sta. Monica Church

IMG_3837

IMG_3820

Convent Ruins. I just love how this place makes me feel like I’m in Rome.

page1

The famous Bangui Windmills! This place is love.

page

A masterpiece of a finalist from Project Runway. You will find it at Marcos Museum in Sarrat.

IMG_3841

Some of the Ilocos weaving products.

IMG_3863

IMG_3866

page 8

Crop tops, Ilocos version. Hahaha

IMG_3865

page5

Ilocos Region deserves to be commended because they were able to preserve most of Imelda Marcos’ filipiniana collection. Each of her mestiza dress is a work of art. From the details to the flawless seam lines, perfect!

page 6

page (2)

IMG_4196

page4

IMG_4149

IMG_40471959381_668630719860893_841454497_nChurch of San Agustin-Paoay

Does this church look familiar? To some of you who have watched Suddenly It’s Magic, you’re right! This is the church where Erich Gonzales brought Mario Maurer. Actually, as soon as I recognized it, I immediately went out of the bus to feel the place. I really fell in love with it and promised my self that I will get married here someday. I know it’s too early but I can’t help it because that church would definitely be every girl’s dream wedding church.

IMG_4216Dragon Fruit Ice Cream

page 7

Introducing a new friend of mine! I find his style really cute so I grabbed the chance to take a photo of him and blog about it. Hi there Klanz!

IMG_4336

The beautiful girls I spent my weekend with ❤

IMG_4485

Hooooray to new friends! No to awkwardness! HAHAHA (ehem)

I’ll definitely go back to this place because of the beautiful memories I made there and I’ve learned a lot of things about our history. I also gained a lot of friends here. And of course, I was so kilig because someone I thought will not come, joined the tour. ILOCOS is LOVE.

About Rayven Nepomuceno

Fashion Enthusiast • Communication Student • Amateur Photographer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

